ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING - 19 MAY 2005

Leader, Deputy Leader, Cabinet, Committees, Sub-Committees and Panels and Nominations for Chairman and Vice-Chairman - 2005/06

- * = Group Representative/Spokesperson
- (a) Leader Councillor J Knapman (Independent Group)
- **(b) Deputy Leader** Councillor S Barnes (Labour Group)
- (c) Other Cabinet Members (7)

Conservative Group (4): R Glozier, S Metcalfe, D Spinks, C Whitbread

Liberal Democrats Group (2): M Heavens, D Jacobs

LRA Group (1): Mrs C Pond

(d) Allocations of Portfolios

Civil Engineering and Maintenance - Conservative Group: D Spinks

Community Wellbeing - LRA Group: Mrs C Pond

Environmental Protection - Liberal Democrats Group: D Jacobs

Finance and Performance Management - Independent Group: J Knapman

Housing - Liberal Democrats Group: M Heavens

Corporate Support Services and ICT: Conservative Group: S Metcalfe

Leisure - Conservative Group: C Whitbread People First - Labour Group: S Barnes

Planning and Economic Development - Conservative Group: R Glozier

(e) Cabinet Committee Memberships (not part of pro rata allocations)

(i) Finance and Performance Management Cabinet Committee

Finance and Performance Management Portfolio Holder (Chairman)

One representative from each of the other political groups represented on the Cabinet (Conservative Group - C Whitbread; Labour Group - S Barnes; Liberal Democrats Group - D Jacobs; LRA Group - Mrs C Pond).

(ii) Loughton Leisure Centre Cabinet Committee

Leisure Portfolio Holder (Chairman)

Leader

Finance and Performance Management Portfolio Holder

ICT and Corporate Support Services Portfolio Holder

One representative from each of the other political groups represented on the Cabinet (Labour Group - S Barnes; Liberal Democrats Group - M Heavens; LRA Group - Mrs C Pond).

(iii) North Weald Airfield Strategy Cabinet Committee

Planning and Economic Development Portfolio Holder (Chairman)

Environmental Protection Portfolio Holder

Finance and Performance Management Portfolio Holder

Leisure Portfolio Holder

People First Portfolio Holder

One representative from each of the other political groups represented on the Cabinet

(LRA Group - Mrs C Pond)

(f) Committees, Sub-Committees and Panels - Memberships

(i) Licensing Committee (15 members)

Conservative Group (6): Mrs R Gadsby, Mrs M McEwen, P McMillan, Mrs M Sartin (Vice-Chairman), Mrs P Smith, Ms S-A Stavrou

Independent Group (1): R Morgan

Labour Group (1): Mrs J Davis

Liberal Democrats Group (4): F Maclaine, L Martin, Mrs P Rush, K Wright

LRA Group (1): M Cohen (Chairman)

BNP Group (1): T Richardson

Vacancy (1)

(ii) Housing Appeals Panel (5 members and one substitute from each group represented on the Panel)

Conservative Group (2): D Stallan (Vice-Chairman),

Ms S-A Stavrou (Substitute – TBA)

Labour Group (1): Mrs J Davis (Chairman) (Substitute – Mrs M Boatman)

Liberal Democrats Group (1): Mrs K Rush (Substitute - K Wright)

LRA Group (1): K Angold-Stephens (Substitute - Mrs C Pond)

(iii) Staff Appeals Panel (5 members and 5 substitutes)

Conservative Group (2): Mrs M Sartin, Mrs P Smith (Substitutes –Mrs J Lea,

Mrs S Perry)

Independent Group (1): R Chidley (Chairman) (Substitute - R Morgan)

Liberal Democrats Group (1): F Maclaine (Substitute - K Wright)

LRA Group (1): J Markham (Substitute - Mrs C Pond)

(iv) Complaints Panel (Pool of 11 members)

Conservative Group (5): R D'Souza, Mrs R Gadsby, Mrs J Lea, Mrs P Smith, D Stallan

Independent Group (1): R Chidley

Liberal Democrats Group (2): L Martin (Vice-Chairman), K Wright

LRA Group (1): K Faulkner

BNP Group (1): T Farr (Chairman)

Labour Group (1) TBA

(v) District Development Control Committee (15 members)

Conservative Group (6): M Colling, Mrs R Gadsby, Mrs A Grigg (Chairman), B Sandler, Mrs P Smith, Ms S-A Stavrou

Independent Group (1): Mrs D Borton*

Labour Group (1): Mrs M Boatman*(Vice-Chairman)

Liberal Democrats Group (4): D Kelly, F Maclaine, L Martin, K Wright*

LRA Group (1): A Lee*

BNP Group (1): Mrs P Richardson*

Vacancy (1):

(vi) Overview and Scrutiny Committee (11 members)

Conservative Group (4): M Colling, Mrs D Collins (Chairman), Mrs A Grigg, Mrs M Sartin

Independent Group (1): Mrs D Borton

Labour Group (1): P Gode

Liberal Democrats Group (3): F Maclaine, Mrs J H Whitehouse (Chairman), M Woollard

LRA Group (1): K Faulkner

BNP Group (1): Mrs P Richardson

(vii) Joint Consultative Committee (9 members plus 9 staff side representatives)

Conservative Group (4): Mrs D Collins, A Green, S Metcalfe (Vice-Chairman), C Whitbread

Independent Group (1): R Chidley

Labour Group (1): S Barnes

Liberal Democrats Group (2): Mrs P Brooks, R Goold

LRA Group (1): K Faulkner

(viii) Area Plans Sub-Committee 'A' (15 members)

Conservative Group (2): J Hart, B Sandler*

Independent Group (1): J Knapman*

Labour Group (2): S Barnes, Mrs M Boatman*

Liberal Democrats Group (4): Mrs A Haigh, L Martin*, F Maclaine (Chairman), G Stollar

LRA Group (4): K Angold-Stephens, M Cohen, A Lee*(Vice-Chairman), J Markham

BNP Group (2): T Farr, Mrs P Richardson*

(ix) Area Plans Sub-Committee 'B' (11 members - all local ward members)

Conservative Group (8): M Colling*(Chairman), R Glozier, A Green (Vice-Chairman), Mrs A Grigg, S Metcalfe, Mrs S Perry, D Stallan, C Whitbread

Liberal Democrats Group (3): Mrs K Rush, Mrs J H Whitehouse*, J M Whitehouse

(x) Area Plans Sub-Committee 'C' (8 members - all local ward members)

Conservative Group (2): Mrs D Collins*, Mrs M McEwen

Independent Group (1): R Morgan*(Vice-Chairman)

Labour Group (1): P Gode*

Liberal Democrats Group (3): D Jacobs, D Kelly*, K Wright (Chairman)

Vacancy (1):

(xi) Area Plans Sub-Committee 'D' (14 members - all local ward members)

Conservative Group (11): J Demetriou*, R D'Souza, Mrs R Gadsby, R Haines, Mrs J Lea, L McKnight, P McMillan, Mrs M Sartin, Mrs P Smith (Vice-Chairman), D Spinks, Ms S-A Stavrou (Chairman)

Independent Group (2): Mrs D Borton, R Chidley*

Liberal Democrats Group (1): Mrs P Brooks*

(xii) Ad Hoc Panel on the Top Management Structure

Conservative Group (2): Mrs D Collins, D Spinks

Liberal Democrats Group (1): M Heavens

Labour Group (1): Mrs J Davis

LRA Group (1): K Faulkner

Leader of the Council as Chairman in non-voting capacity.